You are here:  / Senate Election

Senate Election

  • Mar 26 2021

    Gilani notifies as opposition leader in Senate,PMLN expresses displeasure

    PPP’s Yousuf Raza Gilani declared as leader of the opposition in the upper house of parliament on Friday, according to a notification issued by the Senate Secretariat. Syed Yousuf Raza Gilani had secured the support of 30 Opposition senators for the prized post which had been a matter of contention between the PML-N and the […]

    Read more
  • Mar 24 2021

    Gilani’s request related to Chairman Senate election rejected by IHC

    The Islamabad High Court (IHC) has rejected the petition of Yousuf Raza Gilani for the post of Chairman Senate. The court dismissed the petition as inadmissible.Chief Justice of the Islamabad High Court Athar Minallah issued a written order.The written order said that the court expects from elected representatives to maintain the dignity and sovereignty of […]

    Read more
  • Mar 22 2021

    PPP challenges Chairman Senate polls in Islamabad High Court

    PPP challenges election of Senate chairman in Islamabad High Court. Farooq H Naik filed a petition in the Islamabad High Court on behalf of Senate Chairman candidate Yousuf Raza Gilani. The petition filed by the PPP in the Islamabad High Court said that the rejected votes of Yousuf Raza Gilani should be accepted and he […]

    Read more
  • Mar 13 2021

    The seven senators deliberately sealed the name, PDM sources said

    News sources has uncovered the inside story of the 7 rejected votes in the Senate election, PDM sources said, adding that the seven senators had deliberately stamped their names. According to sources, the PPP and PDM senators whose votes were rejected were already under suspicion.

    Read more
  • Mar 12 2021

    PTI’s backed Sadiq Sanjrani defeats Gilani to claim senate’s chairmanship

    After a Senate race for the posts of chairman and deputy chairman that saw a fair share of controversy, government-backed candidate Sadiq Sanjrani was elected as Senate chairman once more, defeating opposition nominee Yousaf Raza Gillani. PTI’s Mirza Muhammad Afridi and the joint opposition’s Abdul Ghafoor Haideri are contesting for the slot of deputy chairman.

    Read more
  • Mar 10 2021

    IHC rejects PTI’s plea against victory of Yousaf Raza Gillani in Senate polls

    The Islamabad High Court (IHC) rejected on Wednesday the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) petition against Yousuf Raza Gilani’s victory in the March 3 Senate elections. IHC Chief Justice Athar Minallah heard the plea filed against the Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM) candidate by PTI MNA Ali Nawaz Awan.

    Read more
  • Mar 09 2021

    Independently elected senator Muhammad Abdul Qadir joins PTI

    Muhammad Abdul Qadir, who contested the Senate elections as an independent, announced his joining the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), which was welcomed by Prime Minister Imran Khan. According to details, newly elected Senator Abdul Qadir from Balochistan met Prime Minister Imran Khan. In the meeting, newly elected Senator Muhammad Abdul Qadir announced his joining PTI and […]

    Read more
  • Mar 05 2021

    PDM announces boycott of NA session on saturday

    The Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM) has announced that it will boycott tomorrow’s (Saturday) session of the National Assembly, where Prime Minister Imran Khan is expected to seek a vote of confidence from lawmakers. “No member of the PDM will participate in tomorrow’s National Assembly session,” said JUI-F and PDM chief Maulana Fazlur Rehman, speaking to […]

    Read more
  • Mar 05 2021

    GDA holds PTI MPA’s responsible for Sadaruddin Rashdi’s defeat in senate polls

    The leaders of Grand Democratic Alliance (GDA) on Friday have expressed anger over the defeat of Pir Sadaruddin Shah Rashdi in recently held Senate elections. While holding a press conference, the GDA leaders have alleged Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) lawmakers of not voting in the favor of Pir Rashdi. The proofs have been dispatched to Prime […]

    Read more
  • Mar 03 2021

    Senate election: PPP’s Yousaf Raza Gillani defeats Hafeez Sheikh by 5 votes

    Former prime minister Yousaf Raza Gillani has won the Senate seat, defeating PTI’s Abdul Hafeez Shaikh. Following the announcement of the Senate election polls which concluded today (Wednesday) at 5 pm, Gilani and Sheikh shook hands and hugged each other.

    Read more