You are here:  / News / Rehman Malik delisted from PPP Senate candidates list

Rehman Malik delisted from PPP Senate candidates list

Former interior minister Rehman Malik has been dropped from the PPP’s list of candidates for the March 3 Senate election, party insiders said Sunday.Another PPP leader Azfar Bukhari’s name was also removed from the list at the last minute.

The names were struck off after members of the central executive committee objected to their nominations, sources within the PPP shared news.

Rehman Malik was being nominated for the third consecutive time, according to the sources. Bukhari’s nomination was opposed because of his close ties with the PTI leadership and the country’s powerful establishment.Bukhari confirmed that he applied for the Senate ticket but the party declined it.

The PPP parliamentary board has approved the names of Jam Mehtab Dahar, Taj Haider, Saleem Mandviwalla, Sherry Rehman and Shahadat Awan for the election on general seats from Sindh.

On technocrat quota, the party has nominated Farooq H. Naek and Dr Karim Khawaja. Palwasha Khan, Khairun Nisa and Rukhsana Shah have been finalized for seats reserved for women.



Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked ( required )

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.