You are here:  / News / PTI and PDM finalises the names of candidates for senate elections

PTI and PDM finalises the names of candidates for senate elections

Federal Minister for Water Resources Faisal Vawda and Prime Minister Imran Khan’s aide Dr Sania Nishtar are some of the candidates that the PTI have decided to choose to contest the upcoming Senate elections.

This was revealed by Federal Minister for Science and Technology Fawad Chaudhry, who took to Twitter to disclose that the party has finalised most of its candidates for the Senate polls.

“The PTI has finalized the names of most of its candidates. From Islamabad, Dr Abdul Hafeez Shaikh and Fauzia Arshad have been selected as the  PTI’s candidates,” he tweeted.

“From Sindh, Faisal Vawda will contest the election while Saifullah Abro will contest the election for the technocrats seat as the PTI’s candidate,” added the minister. 

“From Punjab, Saifullah Niaz, Dr Zarqa and Barrister Ali Zafar will contest the election as PTI candidates. Announcements regarding the other seats will be made later,” said Chaudhry. 

“Shibli Faraz, Mohsin Aziz, Dost Mohammad, Sania Nishtar and Farzana have been included in the list of final names [for Senate election candidates]. Announcement for the remaining seats will be made later,” he tweeted. 

The constituent parties of Pakistan Democratic Movement — Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam (JUI-F) — have unveiled the names of their candidates for the upcoming Senate elections scheduled to be held on March 3.

From Sindh, PPP has awarded tickets to Jam Mehtab Dehar, Taj Haider, Saleem Mandviwala, Sherry Rehman and Shahadat Awan.On technocrat’s seats, Farooq H Naek, Shahadat Awan and Dr Karim Khawaja have been nominated by the party.Palwashah Khan and Khairulnisa Mughal have been given tickets for women’s seat while Rukhsana Shah is a covering candidate.

From Punjab, the party has nominated only one candidate, Azeem ul Haq Minhas, for the Senate elections.

The PPP has proposed name of Farhatullah Babar and Yousaf Raza Gillani as joint candidates of Pakistan Democratic Movement from Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa (K-P) and Islamabad respectively.

JUI-F spokesperson Aslam Ghauri said in a statement that party has finalised the names of candidates from K-P and Balochistan for Senate elections.Maulana Ataur Rehman and Tariq Khattak have been issued party tickets for the general seat from K-P, he said.

For technocrat seats Zubair Ali and Kamran Murtaza have been nominated while Naeema Kishore and Asiya Nasir for women’s seats, said the spokesperson.Ranjit Singh and Heman Das have been issued tickets for minority seats.

Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri and Khalil Ahmed Baledi have been chosen to contest the Senate polls on general seats from Balochistan, according to the party spokesperson

In a statement, PML-N spokesperson Marriyum Aurangzeb said the party’s parliamentary board has so far shortlisted five names for the Senate polls.

Advocate Aazam Nazir Tarrar will represent PML-N on the technocrat seat in Punjab.The party approved names of Pervez Rashid, Mushahidullah Khan and Professor Sajid Mir for the Senate general seats.On the women’s seat Barrister Sadia Abbasi will represent PML-N, she said.

Aurangzeb said the PML-N K-P chapter will finalise the names after consultation at the party’s provincial level organisation.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked ( required )

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.